What do you do if your tee shot results in an embedded ball? Can you get free relief or take an unplayable? Rules Guy has the ...
The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers. I hit my tee shot on a par 3 well over the green ...
If you decide to play the ball off a cart path and hit it OB, is it permissible to take relief on your next shot? Rules Guy ...
Ask golfers how the Rules of Golf impact their round, and almost all will say that they add strokes to their score. It’s not an unreasonable perspective. We are conditioned, especially in sports, to ...
This content was first published in Golf Journal, a quarterly print publication exclusively for USGA Members. To be among the first to receive Golf Journal and to learn how you can ensure a strong ...
In the photo above, the lie is so preposterous, it looks like a prank. It isn't. It actually occurred in a recent tournament in which a friend of the Etiquetteist was competing. Talk about bad luck.
I hit my ball into a pile of leaves, now what? This involves what the Rules of Golf calls “loose impediments.” In other words, any unattached, natural objects that can be easily removed – things like ...
J.J. Spaun used the Rules of Golf to his advantage in the final round of The Players Championship, smartly getting himself free relief from not one, but two sprinkler heads, from the rough right back ...
Chances are you recognize that the aerial photo above is of the first and 18th holes at the Old Course at St. Andrews in Scotland. As you take a look, you can see spectators walking across those two ...
Among the countless changes to the Rules of Golf in the past five or six years is the terminology used to describe certain things or situations. For example, using the term “all square” in match play ...